The Sanctity of the Body

The words of Psalm 139 are beautiful and powerful.

For you created my inmost being;
    you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
    your works are wonderful,
    I know that full well.
 My frame was not hidden from you
    when I was made in the secret place,
    when I was woven together in the depths of the earth.
 Your eyes saw my unformed body;
    all the days ordained for me were written in your book
    before one of them came to be.

The powerful God who created the sun, moon, and stars is described in gentle, caring terms. Like a loving grandmother who knits together a sweater for her small grandchild, so our heavenly Father takes an interest in each and every one of us. This truth builds on the description in Genesis 1:27 of humanity being made in God’s image.

That’s why it’s an outrage when we discover doctors are careful about how they abort babies so they can protect the organs because there’s a market for them in the research world. But our outrage shouldn’t stop there. It’s equally outrageous when we find out senior citizens are being abused by the people who are supposed to care for them.

As Christians we have to be a light to the world concerning the sanctity of all people regardless of their stage of life. Every person you see is someone God made in His image. That needs to be the reason we express the value of life. It’s not because I say life (and body) has value or because you say so. It’s because the God of the universe made them and declared them good.

One thought on “The Sanctity of the Body

  1. Thank you Brother Cisco for the words that Our Wonderful God gave you!!!

    Your Brother in Christ,
    Cleaning up
    Looking up and
    SPEAKING UP, , , Rich

Leave a Reply

