Prayer Helps

If there’s one thing you need as a church planter it’s a solid prayer life. I have often fallen short of that, but I continue in the struggle. I figured I would share three books with you that have helped me quite a bit over the past few months. The first is How To Pray by R.A. Torrey. The former president of Moody Bible Institute wrote this classic nearly 100 years ago, but it is still challenging. It includes chapters on hindrances to prayer, praying in the Spirit, and the importance of prayer. Reading Torrey’s book has reaffirmed the necessity of having a rich prayer life. We say that often, but it’s much tougher to actually do it.

I’ve been going through Ken Boa’s devotional Face to Face: Praying the Scriptures for Intimate Worship. This is a solid, 3-month companion that is powerful because of how much Scripture it includes. If we believe there is power in God’s Word then imagine the power of praying it regularly.

These three include books to challenge you to pray, give you a blueprint for a daily prayer life, and reach deeper in prayer.

At school at Moody I was required to read The Valley of Vision for a class. I’ll confess to being a bit annoyed by this assignment. The book is a collection of Puritan prayers. Have you tried reading Puritan writings? And we think we speak English! But these prayers are powerful. I am struck by the writers’ transparency, awe of God, and understanding of their sin. Take one of these prayers per day and make it yours.

3 thoughts on “Prayer Helps

  1. Wholeheartedly agree with you….and Valley of Vision personally challenges my Western, me-centric paradigm in prayer every time. Good thoughts, Cisco.

Leave a Reply

