Thanks

During times of great sorrow we see God’s grace in new ways. Usually it’s through people.

Many of you know my mother died unexpectedly on New Year’s Eve at the age of 56. I’m still in a fog in which I know what’s going on is real, but I just can’t believe it. It’s painful, sad, and confusing. Yet, in all of the emotions, God shines through.

An old friend from California called in the midst of funeral planning. He didn’t know my mother had died, but said the Holy Spirit had been tugging at him to call me that day so he finally did. We shared a great 30 minute call filled with mutual encouragement and celebration at how God works. My new radio family at Moody has been unbelievably supportive this week. My voicemail, email, and snail mail boxes have been filled with messages from Moody Radio personnel. I’m just a vacation relief host, but they’re loving me like family. These people, combined with many Facebook, Twitter, and email messages from radio friends I’ve never met have been so encouraging. And that’s what I mean when I say God uses people to show us His grace.

God offers the peace “which surpasses all understanding” (Phil 4:7) and this has been granted to me over the past 10 days by the people He has sent my way to comfort me.

 

3 thoughts on “Thanks

  1. I’m so sorry to hear about your mom.

    So young!

    Grief is a process and takes time. Be patient. Surround yourself with lots of good people. You’re not the first.

    The ‘unexpected’ part sounds very bad. Trust that you will know more as time goes by. You’ve never been one to run from truth. Love and prayers are with you and your family,

  2. Not living in your immediate area, I had not known about the passing of your mother. I know the pain, even thru hope, that comes with the passing of a loved one unexpectedly and at the holiday season. I buried my mother many years ago on Christmas Eve Day and it still colors my Holiday. I thank God, tho, because I can truly relate to others like you who go thru this same experience. I have been praying about your Dad’s situation recently and obviously this will change everything. You are in our prayers as you deal with all these painful uncertaintys. BTW, congratulations on your temp gig at Moody. I workedat WMBI when I was a student many years ago and enjoyed every second of it.
    Ron, your Cisco friend

Leave a Reply

