Networking

Today, I met with another pastor from Oak Park. He was full of wisdom about the community and church in general. Networking with pastors in Oak Park is probably one of the most profitable things I’ve done thus far. Not only am I building camaraderie, but their insights can help me avoid some of the rookie mistakes that are sure to come.

Also today, I’m sending out my first round of fund raising packets to some business leaders who have expressed interest in supporting our church. It’s daunting to think about all of the money that will need to be raised in order to support the congregation until it grows large enough to be self-sustaining, but God is already providing. At every turn, God has been faithful so I know He will be in this too. I should probably write down every instance of His faithfulness so I don’t forget any of them.

Speaking of donors, Monday night I met with an Evangelical Free church to see about sponsoring us with prayer, finances, and someone to advise us. The reception was very positive.

We are still touring locations for meeting space. Since there is no rush we are taking our time to make sure the place has all of our needs met, but also to make sure we have good chemistry with the people renting to us. We want to be a blessing to them as they will be to us.

I have another meeting with a radio station tomorrow. Does God want me in radio AND church planting? Both are time consuming jobs. Only He knows and I trust He will make the decision clear.

This weekend I perform the wedding of two dear friends. It’s been so encouraging to see their love mature and to observe how they have kept God front and center in their relationship. It’s off to a good start.

Items for prayer:

For clarity on this whole radio thing. I still love the interaction with the audience.

That I’ll clear my schedule to make sure I have long stretches of time to be alone with the Lord for guidance and nourishment.

That I don’t mess anything up with the wedding this weekend. Mess up on Sunday morning and most people will forget it. Mess up a wedding and NO ONE there forgets it. 🙂

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Networking

  1. Praying for you Cisco, that God will provide clarity and guidance to what you are to do now, and what He wants you to do down the road.

    Michael Hyatt (Chairman of Thomas Nelson Publishing) tweeted earlier today :

    “What if everything that has happened in your life to this point was merely a preparation for what is next?” @MichaelHyatt

    Blessings,

    Michael

Leave a Reply

