Craziness

Last week was one for the books. I was in church planter training all week and preached three times. Oh, and both of our children have decided sleeping is optional.

The church planter training was organized by the Acts 29 Network and took place at Harvest Bible Chapel. It was filled with encouragement from pastors who have done exactly what I’m doing. They discussed some of the pitfalls (and how to avoid them) and also the opportunities. James MacDonald talked about having perseverance during the rough patches. He showed us how, time and again, leaders in the early church had to deal with opposition to the Gospel.

I preached at Village Church of Dyer, Indiana three times this weekend. I always enjoy being at that church because the congregation is so loving! I preached on Luke 2:22-40 and encouraged everyone to tell people about Jesus. I hope to have access to the sermon audio soon and will post it here.

Louis has decided sleeping more than 90 minutes at a time (even through the night) is totally unworkable. Gabby is now excited about playing with Mommy and Daddy, at 4am. Mommy and Daddy don’t want to play at 4am. We’re both feeling a little exhausted, especially Anna who is preparing for Caris’ Annual Benefit Dinner. Please pray that God will make our kids sleep! If He won’t do it, I’ve heard a little whiskey on the gums does the trick.

This week I’ll be back on the radio filling in for Mark Elfstrand Tuesday morning on WMBI-FM (90.1). With my longtime connections to Moody, it’s always a thrill to be there. I also have a tour of a facility that may just become our church home for a while. And this weekend I’ll take the family to Springfield. I’m going to be on a panel at The Illinois News Broadcaster’s Association convention and we’ll make a little family weekend out of it by seeing some of the sites. I’m also preparing materials to give to prospective donors so they know a little about our vision for ministry here in Oak Park.

I ask for your prayers for those things. God is being very faithful.

 

4 thoughts on “Craziness

  1. While in Springfield, Cisco, you MUST go to the Lincoln Museum. To me, it’s now the top site in the city.

    It’s located an easy stroll north of downtown.

  2. On my way to meeting my girlfriends for a quick get-together, I heard you while listening to Moody. My first thought was, “Wow, that guy should always be on the radio, he’s a natural.” Well, at home this afternoon, getting my daily dose of Chris Fabry, there was that voice again…and speaking on a topic near and dear to me!
    I lost my job at my church after 7 1/2 years as an administrative assistant because of budget cuts. I was devastated, but knew God had a plan, and just like the lady who left her teaching job, He hasn’t revealed it to me, yet!
    I would love for you to plant your church over the border in Cheeseland…we really need a few more GOOD churches up here. But I will be praying for God to allow the Holy Spirit to fill you with His power and grace (and sleep!) to take on the task He has planned for you.

    1. Thanks so much for your encouragement. Sometimes God doesn’t reveal things to us right away. It can be frustrating, but I think He’s trying to ensure our reliance upon Him. That’s when trusting Him is really put to the test!

Leave a Reply

